APC’s Sanwo-Olu wins Lagos governorship

Governor Sanwo-olu

…Defeats Agbaje in landslide victory

By Ireti Olaoni, March 11, 2019

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Babajide Sanwo-Olu has been elected the new governor of Lagos State.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate scored the highest number of votes in the 2019 Lagos governorship election to emerge victor over his closest opponent, Jimi Agbaje of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and 43 other candidates on the ballot.

According to official results declared by the electoral commission, INEC.
Mr Sanwo-Olu also won in all the local government areas in the state.

The former commissioner in Lagos state won 739,445 votes while Agbaje finished the race with 206,141 votes.

Agbaje failed to win in any of the state’s 20 local government areas as Sanwo-Olu coasted to victory in Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, Epe, Ikeja, Ikorodu, Amuwo-Odofin, Ibeju-Lekki, Agege, Apapa, Somolu, Eti-Osa, Oshodi-Isolo, Mushin, Kosofe, Surulere, Badagry, Ojo, Alimosho, Ifako-Ijaye and Ajeromi-Ifelodun.

See details of the result for the Lagos governorship election below.

Lagos: Final official results

Here is the break down of the official results for the governorship election in Lagos state.

Total registered voters. 6,505,512

Accredited voters. 1,006,074

A 4122

AAC 1078

ABP 511

ACD 917

AD 3310

ADC 3544

ADP 4780

AGA 207


ANDP 140

ANN 389

ANP 359

APA 1906

APC 739,445

APDA 642

APM 194

ASD 187

CAP 237

DA 111

DPC 211

DPP 555

FJP 113

GPN 49

ID 61


LP 392


MMN 52

MPN 769


NCP 712

NPC 1886

PDP 206,141

PPA 548

PPC 617

PPN 234

PRP 153

PT 120


SDP 277

UDP 151

UPP 108

YDP 148

YPP 1604

ZLP 142

Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *