January 18, 2022

Balyesa: APC Wins Senatorial seats in GEJ’s Districts

…Clinches Two Seats in House of Reps

By Admin, March 1, 2019

The All Progressives Congress has broke new ground in the recently concluded National Assembly election after winning its 65 seats in the ninth Senate in the Bayelsa East Senatorial District.

Bayelsa East Senatorial District is the district of former president Goodluck Jonathan, who is a Peoples Democratic Party chieftain.

The seat was won by the Degi Wagara, of the APC with 43, 303 to beat the PDP candidate, Ipiganai Izagara who pulled 32, 363 votes.

RegentAfrica Times gathered that INEC has so far declared most of the results of 101 senatorial elections that were conducted across the country on Saturday.

The red chamber comprises of 109 members. For a party to have the two-thirds majority in the upper chamber of the National Assembly, it must produce 73 senators.

The opposition Peoples Democratic Party has won 35 seats in the Senate, while the Young Progressive Party clinched a seat in Anambra State.

Similarly, the APC, also hit the ground running in the same district. From the results announced by INEC, opposition party in the state clinched two House of Representatives seats in the Southern Ijaw and Nembe/Brass.

This is the first time the APC is winning the National Assembly elections in the state since 1999.

A breakdown of the results shows that the PDP won three of the House of Representatives seat while the APC clinched two.

The PDP won in the other two senatorial seats in Bayelsa West and the central district with Ewhrudjakpo Lawrence, a  former Works Commissioner polling 49,912,  while Diri Douye,on the Bayelsa East District seat with 83, 978 votes.


Share this