Health Minister, Ehanire Appoints National Task Team on COVID-19 Vaccine

Health Minister, Dr. Ehanire

By Shola Akingboye – 1st December 2020

The Honourable Minister of Health has announced the appointment of a National Task Team on COVID-19 vaccines.

This is contained in a copy of the appointment schedule, made available  to the press by Dr. Adebimpe Adebiyi, of the minister’s office  on Tuesday.

According to the statement, the Honourable Minister of Health led multidisciplinary in nature and include experts from the academia, private sector and top government officials, duties of the Task Team, includes; to review all COVID-19 vaccines in phase III clinical trials; decide which is most promising and potent, and advise government on access, acquisition and distribution of the vaccine when it becomes available.

Other members include; Honourable Minister of State for Health – Alternate Chairman; Honourable Minister of Foreign Affairs – Member; Honourable Minister of Finance, Budget – Member; Honourable Minister of Science and Technology – Member; National Planning, Permanent Secretary of Health – Member; Director, Food & Drugs Services – Member; Director, Planning Research & Statistics – Member; Director General, Nigerian Institute of Medical Research – Member; Director General, Nigeria Center for Disease Control – Member;  Director General, National Agency for Food and
Drug Administration and Control; Executive Director, National Primary Health Care – Secretary;
Development Agency, Representative of Bio-Vaccine – Member; Prof. Evawere Sadoh – Member; Representative of Coalition Against COVID-19 (CACOVID) – Member; Prof. Esangbedo – Member DEVELOPMENT PARTNERS – Member; World Health Organization (WHO); United Nations Children Fund (UNICEF).

It also stated that the Honourable Minister further reiterated his wishes  that COVID-19 is real and enjoins members of the public to observe all protocols as prescribed by the Federal Government.


Share this

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *